Goldfish Tee- art deco version

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you want to know about why this is called the goldfish tee, read this. This is my fifth or sixth version of this tee, again in a different fabric than the pattern called for. Instead of rayon challis, I went for a jersey with rayon content, a very slinky, drapey and elegant fabric. I’ve had this fabric for years. As I mentioned before, I am not a huge jersey fan (I know, there’s been a lot of jersey content on here lately- I hope my contradictions make me appear wild and mysterious;) but I do like a nice rayon jersey. I talked my sister into giving this to me- it was a mere 70 cm, so she didn’t really have plans for it. At the time I got the fabric, I never even sewn with jersey, but I liked the print and feel so much that I did my best convincing my sister to hand it over.

Due to the fact that it was only 70 cm it sat in my stash for a long time. I came across it few weeks ago, when I went through my bits and pieces in search for scraps to turn into a gift. When I saw this beauty of a fabric I thought of my Bronte success with rayon jersey, but the back piece can’t be squeezed out of 70 cms, so not Bronte. Then I remembered this– and by sheer luck- the pattern pieces fit. I had to reduce the seam allowance to 1 cm, fold the fabric for each front and back piece individually and  cheat with the sleeves (fabric folded cross grain- so one sleeve has a different print direction, but I don’t think it is very noticeable) but it worked. There was just enough fabric left for a neckline binding, which came out a tad too short, but still works.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The fabric being much slinkier and more elastic than in my first jersey goldfish tee, I had to take the side seams in a bit but other than that no alterations were neccessary.

I like the finished version a lot- it is more roomy in the sleeve and waist area but  looks good with a high waisted skirt. And it allowed me to put a very small piece of much liked fabric to good use. Hooray!

Merken

One thought on “Goldfish Tee- art deco version

Leave a Reply

