Mitch Sweater

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Did it take me days to finish? Was the first fitting frustrating because of all the modifications the jumper needed to fit? Did it come out ok but won’t get much wear? Was the material and pattern expensive?

NO!

I finished this jumper before breakfast (mind you I had my paper pattern pieces ready the night before). It cost me about 9 Euros, it fit (nearly) straight out of the envelope and it will (hopefully) see lots of wear. Complete success! So what’s the secret?

It’s a children’s pattern. This is the Mitch Sweater of La Maison Victor Sept/Oct 2016. I made size 122/128 for a standard size 7-year-old girl and the fit is spot on. It has a decent body length so it doesn’t ride up and expose skin during play. The sleeves are the perfect length and the jumper is neither too tight nor too boxy. I only made one minor alteration and that is I lengthened the neckline binding by an inch, which turned out ok albeit still a bit too tight for my taste. In general I found all the bindings a bit tight but that might be due to the fact that I used a pretty firm jersey knit insted of standard ribbed binding. I will definitely make more of these in the future and with the next ones I will ignore the 1 cm seam allowance at the neckline and add abit more to the sleeve and neckline binding to make sewing easier and to allow for a bit more room.

This was this first time I had to overlock two quite heavy fabrics together in a very small circumference (sleeves) while having to stretch one of them out- so parts of the neckline and sleeve bindings are a bit wobbly, but I couldn’t care less.

I used a mid weight sweat fabric and the biggest pattern piece is exactly 50 cm long in size 122/128, so half a metre of 140 cm fabric is enough!

One thought on “Mitch Sweater

Leave a Reply

