A cyclist’s beanie

After a bit of a work-related hiatus I actually made something! My husband asked for a hat to wear under his cycling helmet, because the ones I knit for him are a bit too bulky. There are numerous free beanie patterns out there, I settled on this one since it was recommended by a friend.

IMG_6680

I bought a beautiful rust coloured viscose jersey and went for the  biggest size the pattern offered. Originally, I intended to omit the seam between inner and outer hat, but I hadn’t bought enough fabric. In the end, I was really glad I didn’t buy more fabric for a seamless version, because I had to chop off 3,5 cm from the lower edge because my husband needed the hat to be less slouchy. It now fits under the helmet but can also be worn solo without looking like a skin-tight swimming cap.

It really is a quick make even if you need to be extra careful to get the crown decreases nice and rounded. I might make one for myself too.

IMG_6684


Leave a comment